India is part of Asia. The Himalayas rises to the North and the southeast is boarded by the Bay of Bengal.

India, officially the Republic of India, is a country in South Asia.  It is the seventh-largest country by geographical area, the second-most populous country with well over one billion people, and the world's most populous democracy. 

Mainland India is bounded by the Indian Ocean on the south, the Arabian Sea on the west, and the Bay of Bengal on the east; and it is bordered by Pakistan to the west; Bhutan, the People's Republic of China and Nepal to the north; and Bangladesh and Burma to the east.

India consists of 28 states all of which have elected legislatures and governments patterned on the Westminster model.