The Flag of India 

India's flag was adopted on July 22, 1947, after India became independent from Great Britain

India's flag is a horizontal tricolour in equal proportion of deep saffron (orange) on the top, white in the middle and dark green at the bottom.

Saffron represents courage and sacrifice

White represents peace, unity and truth.

Green stands for faith and fertility.

The blue symbolizes the sky and the ocean.

In the center of the white band is a blue wheel with 24 spokes. This is the Dharma Chakra ( which is also known as the Wheel of Law). The Chakra represents the continuing progress of the nation and the importance of justice in life. This center symbol or the 'CHAKRA',  is a Buddhist symbol dating back to the 200th century BC.